Death is a Song—Leave Out All the Rest…

Hello, folks. I know it’s been a while since I wrote a post. I’m still here. I know, some of you see me and some of you don’t. That’s okay. It’s just algorithms getting in our way. I’m here today to talk to you about something that’s been weighing on me since the day I heard about it. That’s the death of Chester Bennington. We all heard it was a suicide, then I read an article someone posted that says otherwise. I’m not sure I want to believe someone who had that much important stuff going on just killed himself.

 

If you’ve ever looked at your family, looked at a higher calling at all, it keeps you living. No matter what type of mental disorder you have, that’s the ONE thing that keeps you alive. It’s like that cord you hold onto. You can take meds to help or go sit in the woods or whatever you want, but if it’s not going to help, it won’t. That lifeline is sometimes the only anchor there is. That thing worth fighting for. We must have that.

 

I want to believe he had a lot of things to fight for. Not just one. I often wonder if Chester knew how many books his music helped to write and how many people his words reached in differing ways. I just wonder. Chester helped ME write many books. And I just wanted to say thank you, Chester.

 

When he died, no matter how it happened, it was one of the saddest things to happen in a long time. He will be missed far and wide.

 

I will NEVER forget the music. NEVER.

 

 

Leave Out All the Rest

By Linkin Park

 

I dreamed I was missing

You were so scared

But no one would listen

Cause no one else cared

After my dreaming

I woke with this fear

What am I leaving

When I’m done here?

So, if you’re asking me, I want you to know

 

When my time comes

Forget the wrong that I’ve done

Help me leave behind some reasons to be missed

And don’t resent me

And when you’re feeling empty

Keep me in your memory

Leave out all the rest

Leave out all the rest

 

Don’t be afraid

I’ve taken my beating

I’ve shared what I’ve made

I’m strong on the surface

Not all the way through

I’ve never been perfect

But neither have you

So, if you’re asking me, I want you to know

 

When my time comes

Forget the wrong that I’ve done

Help me leave behind some reasons to be missed

And don’t resent me

And when you’re feeling empty

Keep me in your memory

Leave out all the rest

Leave out all the rest

 

Forgetting

All the hurt inside you’ve learned to hide so well

Pretending

Someone else can come and save me from myself

I can’t be who you are

 

When my time comes

Forget the wrong that I’ve done

Help me leave behind some reasons to be missed

And don’t resent me

And when you’re feeling empty

Keep me in your memory

Leave out all the rest

Leave out all the rest

 

Forgetting

All the hurt inside you’ve learned to hide so well

Pretending

Someone else can come and save me from myself

I can’t be who you are

I can’t be who you are

 

 

R.I.P. Chester Bennington

March 20, 1976-July 20, 2017

 

 

Jennifer Oneal Gunn

Author, editor, cover artist, and mom.

